top of page

Fell Racing

Fell Race Championship 2024

From our Fell Running correspondent Colin Brearley…

It’s time to launch the 2024 Fell Champs! After the success of last year, with large turnouts
at a lot of the races, I’m hopeful that this year’s race selection will make it even bigger and
better. I’ve largely tried to keep a similar mix of races in this year’s championship, and
there is a nice mix of race distances, terrain and also mid-week and weekend races, so
hopefully something for everyone. However, given the success of trips like the Lee Mills
Relay and Pennine Way weekend last year, I’ve thrown in a couple of excellent races that
are a little further afield to give people a chance to try out some new locations and, with
Fairfield Horseshoe, experience the brilliant fun of racing in the Lake District, the home of
fell running.

For those in the club that haven’t run a fell race before, I’ve tried to indicate on the race list
those races that are most suitable for beginners, though generally any of the short races
are more than doable. In addition, over this and next month’s Running Free I plan to set
out some “Fell-racing for beginners” FAQ’s to hopefully help you feel ready to try out fellrunning. If there are other questions you have then drop me a note and I’ll do my best to
answer them and also include them in next month’s Running Free.

The championship format remains as a selection of 14 races, with your best 7 races
counting to your overall score. Points run from 10 for 1st, 9 for 2nd etc down to 2 points for
9th and 1 point for 10th and below. Hopefully this might lead to some nice mid-field battles
as every place counts! As in previous years if there is a tie on points, then the Long races
will count double. If there is still a tie after that, then the Medium races then double.

Races for this year - races marked * are more suitable for those new to fell racing

1. Wolf’s Pit* – Sunday 10 March, time TBC. Cat AS: 9.2km, 467m. Also Notts Fell Champs race. Early entry for Notts runners – details will follow as soon as I get them.

2. Wirksworth Incline* – Sunday 14 April, 11:00am. Cat AS: 6.9km, 400m. A short, sharp fell race that goes straight up to a trig point then straight back down. Pre-entry only. Entries opening soon at

3. Fairfield Horseshoe – Saturday 11 May, 11am. Cat AM: 14.5km, 914m. One of the classic Lakeland fell races, with the option of making a weekend of it. A good option for your first Lake District race, with relatively easy navigation, good trails and taking in a proper summit. Pre-entry from 1 March.

4. Pommie Panter* – Sunday 19 May, 11:00am. Cat BS: 9.3km, 267m. A new one for the club, but if anything like the other Totley Races it will be a cracker. Entries are open at so get your entry in now!

5. Passing Clouds – Sunday 2 June, 11:00am. Cat BM: 15.7km, 565m. A lovely circuit round the Staffordshire “clouds”. Entry on the day.

6. Grindleford* – Thursday 20 June, 7:30pm. Cat BS: 7.7km, 220m. A quality mid-week race with an “interesting” finish. Normally an option for a beer and burger afterwards as well. Preentry from 1 April 2024 at

7. Hathersage Gala* – Monday 1 July, 7:30pm. Cat BS: 7.2km, 325m. It’s been missing from the calendar for a few years so great to have it back. Pre-entries open around Easter time at

8. Bamford Carnival* – Wednesday 17 July, 7:30pm. Cat BS: 7.3km, 305m. A popular mid-week race up and down Win Hill. Pre-entry via – date tbc.

9. Parwich Panoramic 5* – Tuesday 6 August, 7:30pm. Cat CS: 8.5km, 200m. I’ve not done this one before, but it starts and finishes at a pub, gets good reviews and is entry on the day. Winner!

10. Crowden – Sunday 18 August, 11:00am. Cat BM: 12.9km, 518m. A great horseshoe race up and down Black Hill. Expect heather and bogs! Pre-enter at or entry on the day if not full.

11. Stretton Skyline – Sunday 1 September, 11:00am. Cat BL: 30.5km, 1357m. The trip over to the Long Mynd and Caer Caradoc in Shropshire is well worth it for this cracking long outing. Entry on the day.

12. Shelf Moor* – Saturday 21 September, 11:00am. Cat AS: 9.6km, 457m. This was part of the 2023 English Champs and is a belter of a race. Pre-entry (details tbc) and entry on the day.

13. Wirksworth Undulator – Sunday 29 September, 11:00am. Cat BM: 13.5km, 384m. The second visit to Wirksworth in this years championships, this time for a slightly longer outing. Entries opening soon at

14. Roaches – Sunday 10 November, 10:30am. Cat BL: 24.1m, 1128m. An HPRC favourite, with testing hills, a couple of river crossings, lots of mud (and more) and lots of fun. Entry on the day.

Races are categorised as A (hardest) to C (milder) on the basis of the amount of climb, and long (L), medium (M) or short (S) on the basis of distance.

You should also be prepared to carry the full mandatory kit if required.

  • Full Body Cover; waterproof cagoule with hood, FULL length waterproof bottoms, with taped seams

  • Hat

  • Gloves

  • Map of the course

  • Compass

  • Whistle

Past winners

bottom of page