Holme Pierrepont Running Club
Email Us


Update June 2017

Since the last update of age-graded tables, running has become more popular generally and the number of older runners has increased relatively more. So the standards expected in each event, in each age group, have gone up. The new 2015 tables, used by World Masters Athletics, reflect this. Older runners will notice more of a change than younger ones.

The club standards are calculated by applying a percentage to the World Masters Athletics age standards. These scales compare times with a basket of the top world times produced by a number of elite athletes in each 5 year age-group. For a full explanation see here.

So to achieve a standard, a runner must be able to run x% as fast as the time in the WMA standards.*

The committee decided some years ago that the bronze standard should be within the reach of all moderately-capable club runners who train consistently. To achieve the gold standard, the runner should be able to compete with the top runners from other clubs in age-graded competitions. The silver standard should be set at a level between these two. The diamond standard is reserved for those exceptional athletes who feature prominently in published national rankings.

It was decided therefore to use these age-graded levels:

Bronze - 65%

Silver - 70%

Gold - 75%

Diamond - 85%

Men's standards

Women's standards

*With the exception of the standard for the Lake, which of course has no WMA standard and hasn’t been updated. The method by which that was calculated is lost in the mists of time.